How EU Parliamentary Elections Work

The UK elects 73 members (MEPs) to the European parliament, which is made up of 751 MEPs elected by the 28 member states of the EU. 

The UK is split into 12 European electoral regions, and each region is represented by between three and 10 MEPs.


The constituencies are:

South East England (10 MEPs)

London (8)

North West England (8)

East of England (7)

West Midlands (7)

South West England (including Gibraltar) (6)

Yorkshire and the Humber (6)

Scotland (6)

East Midlands (5)

Wales (4)

North East England (3)

Northern Ireland (3)


In England, voters can choose to vote for one party or individual. The ballot paper lists the parties standing with the names of their potential MEPs, as well as any individuals who are standing as independent candidates. 

The D’Hondt method of proportional representation is used to calculate how many seats each party or individual receives. 

Those elected as MEPs on 23 May will represent the UK when the new European parliament assembles on 1 July, until such time as the UK ceases to be a member of the European Union.

You can read more here about how the D’Hondt method works and why it is still vital not to split the Remain vote:

The Remain Voters, the six million people who signed the petition to revoke (withdraw) Article 50, should come out to vote Liberal Democrats at the European Elections to convert their protest into votes. Send a clear message to the Conservative Government and the pro-Brexit Labour Party that we want to remain citizens of Europe.

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.

Twitter latest

Find us on Facebook